By: Webster Jhon A. Cerujano
1st Place, Feature Writing (Filipino)
1st Place, Editorial Writing (English)
2nd Place, News Writing (English)


         The Northern Iloilo State University (NISU) held its Journalism Seminar Workshop and 1st University Writing Contest on May 26-27, 2022, to broaden and assess the journalistic writing skills of student journalists.


       The two-day event took place at NISU Mini-Theatre, Main Campus, Estancia, Iloilo, with over 150 participants coming from the campuses of Estancia, Concepcion, Ajuy, Batad, Lemery, Sara and Barotac Viejo, who competed in three (3) different categories, such as Feature Writing, Editorial Writing, and News Writing.


      The former NISU Publications and Information Office Director, Dr. Jeff George V. Delima III, welcomed all the participants with delight and urged them to enjoy the occasion.


      Meanwhile, the Vice President of Academic Affairs, Dr. Alma R. Defacto, emphasized in her message that the student journalists should adhere to the principles of responsible writing: truth, accuracy, fairness, and accountability.


      "I congratulate each and everyone for being the participants for today's activity... I am sure that every one of you is very eager and willing to participate, and willing to show their talents in writing," said Dr. Defacto.


      The participants took part in feature and editorial writing during the first day of the event and in news writing on the second day.



      On May 27, 2022, Dr. Delima received the plaque of recognition as the outgoing PIO Director from Prof. Mark Anthony Lopez, the newly designated PIO Director, recognizing his exemplary contributions to the publications office.


      "I want you all to continue writing until the last drop of your ink," said by Prof. Lopez during his speech to the student journalists as he also accepted the challenges of his new assignment.


      At the end of the event, the Estancia Main Campus was declared the overall champion, Ajuy Campus as the first runner-up, and Concepcion Campus as the second runner-up.